demanding dinner party diners

wow! remember this boy? well a little bird, this boy, told him about my post. and let’s just say i got a lot of complaints from my newest reader, he wanted me to correct my baked spaghetti post so everyone knows he is a “grown man,” well there you go!

on friday i invited that little bird and his fiancé, who happens to be this girlfriend, over for our first ever (and probably last) dinner party this past week and it turned into everyone pointing fingers at me for not mentioning them in my blog. to be fair, the little bird and his fiancé make up about half my readership, the other being my family members. and it was a rough dinner for me, but the company was good, and the impromptu taboo win made it worth it.

it was a last-minute thrown together dinner party, so i did the only thing i know i can do right, mexican! you know i made my favorite guacamole and then i decided i would try those enchiladas that all of my girlfriends have pinned on pinterest.  you have to tell me all of your friends have the “according to many pinners -THE BEST white chicken enchilada recipe EVER” pinned? i think that’s a little bold, but it had me interested. so i made them.

all the dinner diners said “they were so good court” but i kind of love enchilada sauce and that’s not in “white” enchiladas, so they were okay to me. but like i say, this blog is not all about me, it’s about you too!!! so if you don’t want red sauce, then dammit make these!

for dessert… blondies!!! so mexican right? absolutely not, but this crowd loves the blondies so sometimes you just got to give the people what they want! plus they take about 5 minutes to whip up.

dinner party white chicken enchiladas (adapted from joyful momma’s kitchen)

9 soft taco shells
2 cups take home rotissere chicken, shredded
2 cups shredded Monterey Jack cheese
3 Tbsp. butter
3 Tbsp. flour
2 cups chicken broth
1 cup plain greek yogurt
1 (4 oz) can diced green chillies
preheat oven to 350 degrees, grease 9 x 13 pan.
mix chicken and 1 cup cheese.  roll up in tortillas and place in pan.
in a sauce pan, melt butter, then stir in flour and cook 1 minute.  add broth and whisk until smooth, heat over medium heat until thick and bubbly, about 5 minutes.
stir in greek yogurt and chilies until mixed, then pour over enchiladas and top with remaining cheese.
bake 22 min and then under high broil for 3 min to brown the cheese.
photo credit: guest photographer
key grips: sapna and jonathan
i hope you 3 are happy now!
Comments

  1. Anonymous says:

    gosh, this looks really good. i might have to make it!
    I thought of you the toher day. I made 4 loaves of Bisquick Banana bread. I used almond extract instead of vanilla. Then added, chopped dates ( yum) dried cherries, and raisins. Sprinkled a few nuts on top and allspice…. all yummmmy

  2. Anonymous says:

    How DID I know it was Sapna??!! Looks yummy even with white sauce! I will def. try it. 🙂

  3. Anonymous says:

    The last comment was from doronet. 🙂

  4. yes love it! Made it onto the blog officially! The enchiladas were bomb, and were just the cherry on top of our taboo victory! ; p (insert eli manning face here)

Leave a Reply

